Discovery


It is not that you left me.
Because you were always there.
It is not because you stopped loving me.
Because you never said you did not care.

It is not because we were mad at each other.
Because we never had a fight.
It is not because you found another.
Because you were never looking.

It was because I did not pay attention.
To the look in your eyes.
It was because I did not understand why.
You would show up miles from home.

It was because I did not know I was stupid.
And let you slip though my fingers.
It was because I did hurt your feelings.
Because I did not see the love in your eyes.

It was because I was so young and so full of myself.
That I watched you go away.
It was because I seen you with another Man.
That later I would understand.

It was something I cannot fix, nor mend.
A broken heart I know I caused.
For I realize the hurt I caused.
Because now the pain I must live.

I do not expect you to forgive me.
I do not expect you to care.
I understand why you won’t take my calls.
But I do not understand why you never married.

I blame only me and know the truth I will tell.
For all that I have done to you I am living in that hell.
It is all over. The days have counted down.
And here we are so far apart.

Broken hearts can never mend.
I could if I had the power.
I know who you were then.
I discovered you in my heart.

And you will never go away.

 

1981

Leave a Reply

