Standing In The Sand


I watched the boat as it disappeared in the setting sun.
I felt the spray of the ocean on my face as evening comes.
I wiggle my toes as I am Standing In The Sand.

I listened to the gulls as they beg for a hand out.
I touched the feathers as they flew by my face.
I laughed out loud while I was Standing In The Sand.

I heard the harbor master as he blew his horn.
I felt the cool breeze from the ocean waves.
I stopped and looked down to see that I was Standing In The Sand.

I closed my eyes and watched you leave.
I saw the tears run down your face.
I opened my eyes and I was still Standing in the Sand.

I am older now than I was yesterday. But younger than tomorrow.
I will not know where I will be but I know that is where I am at.
Yet through all of this I will Be Standing In The Sand.

MelanieOldPhoto

Photo: unknown
Graphic Design: James Wells  2012

Leave a Reply

