The Lingering Line


It is not chalk nor is it pen.
Yet it drew the line.
Clear it was put down on the ground.
There it was for all to see.

No signs needed.
No notice to pass out.
No guard posted.
No message on the radio.

You did not draw this line.
You did not send out a notice.
You did not stop the traffic there.
You did not ask for a guard to stop people.

For all these things you are not guilty.
For all these things you have no part of.
For inside this line so bold to see.
The only one guilty of this line was me.

Many years have passed since then.
Much pain was cause by that line.
You are gone and I but a lonely soul.
Unable to tell you I am sorry.

I pass by that line and see it lingering.
My name hanging there to haunt me.
Your tears still staining the ground.
I bow my head but nothing changes.

It is not chalk nor is it pen.
Yet it drew the line.
Clear it was put down on the ground.
There it was for all to see.

FeathersTest01

Drawing: James Earl Wells, Copyright 2012

Leave a Reply

