Native Son


Native Son

I am your Native Son.

I hunted this land.
I fished the waters that now run dry.
I lived in peace with my Brother Nations.

I am your Native Son.

I led my people in summer and in winter.
We raised our children without fear.
I was known from Nation to Nation a great man.

I am your Native Son.

You came and took my land.
You took my food.
You took our women.

I am your Native Son.

You sprayed Mother Earth with your chemicals.
You dumped your waste in our water.
And you took more of my land.

I am your Native Son.

You rounded us up and played Nation against Nation.
You put us on Reservations.
You made us learn your ways.

I am your Native Son.

I cry for the Great Spirit to heal Mother Earth.
I sang to the Great Spirit to clean our Water.
I tried to clean the Earth but it is to late.

I am your Native Son.

I live on little land.
I no longer can hunt the great Buffalo.
The fish in the waters and the sky above are full of poison.

I am your Native Son.

This was my Nation long before you came.
This was my World that you took from me.
I am an Alien in my own Nation.

I am your Native Son.

No longer will I be silent.
No longer will I live as you wish.
No longer will I accept your ways.

For I am your Native Son.

 

Art Credit: “Native American Encyclopedia”

Dedicated to all Native Americans and especially Louetta Wilson and Tammie Hedges.

2 thoughts on “Native Son

  1. This is so true! Why do we forget? How can we forget? Why don’t poeple know? My children will know, always, that this land was not ours, and I will teach them when they look at me, to respect Natives and their history and their story.

    This made me teary, for I felt the lose, pain, and destuction. Always be proud being Native. I respect deeply. Thank-you for this post, I hope you post more.
    Tara

Leave a Reply

