Conversation In The Dark


I heard you call out to me last night.
I looked but you were not there.
I smelled your perfume in the air.
Yet no one was there.

I felt a touch last night.
I opened my eyes and you were not there.
I could smell your hair.
Yet no one was there.

I saw eyes brown and shining last night.
But you were not there.
I heard the door shut.
Yet no one was there.

I sat on the edge of the bed.
But you spoke no more.
I laid down and closed my eyes.
And still no one was there.

I dream of you last night.
You were smiling at me.
Your hand entwined in mine.
Kissing you ever so gently.

I heard your voice and raised up.
But you were not there.
I felt your touch and glowing eyes.
But no one was there.

Dawn came and was alone.
Looking at the ceiling I knew.
I knew I would never feel those things.
I would never see you and hold you close.

A tear flowed down my cheek.
I looked at your photo standing beside me.
The memories flowed into me like water over a dam.
Yet you were not here.

A single moment in time.
A day without reason or rhyme.
A day of pain and sorrow.
And you were gone.

I promise I will see you again.
Maybe not here.
Maybe not now.
But someday I will see you again.

And no one was there.
But the love in my heart.

7 thoughts on “Conversation In The Dark

  1. soumyav says:

    wow! the silent everloving presence!

  2. aeyshadeedee says:

    wow! Absolutely amazing piece! I love your blog by the way. Keep doing what you do

Leave a Reply

