Last Words


Something told me not to come.
Someone gave me a note from the beyond.
I do not understand why.
And when I read it, I began to cry.

The signature was plane to see.
It was a note to set me free.
I never wanted to see this day.
And I never thought I would have nothing to say.

Like the sun setting in the west.
I was sure I gave it my very best.
Somehow I knew how you would feel.
But never guessed you would wait till now.

As they lowered you into the ground.
I became lost again and would never be found.
So why did you pick this way to leave?
When I was waiting to see you and make you believe.

You are gone and I am here.
I am here living in fear.
They day never came for me to say my last words.
The words I am sorry, for what I had done.

So now that you are there and I am here.
Please know I will always think of you dear.
The love in my heart will never part.
And you will still own the largest part.

Goodnight my dear sleep tight.
I will see you sometime after midnight.

Leave a Reply

