Long Winter Years


It was love,
It was hope,
It was great.
You were here.
We were together.
Then we were gone.

I found you.
We talked again.
I found hope.
It was great.
You were there.

Before I could ask you.
Before I had the courage.
Before I knew you might answer.
I looked and you were gone.

I never thought in a million years.
That when we finally part.
It would drive the pain home again.
It would make all things stop.

Just as I was looking.
Just as I was hoping.
Just as I was reading.
Someone said she is gone.

I never got to ask you.
I guess I never will.
I will say I Love You.
But Bitter as it is.
I will say I miss you.
And you know I always will.

Rest in Peace My Love.
And know we will meet again.
For as I put paper to pen.
I write to you from my heart.

It was love,
It was hope,
It was great.
You were here.
We were together.
Then we were gone.

Goodbye My Love
I will see you soon.

 

To my dear friend with Love.
Cindy Gayle (Moffatt) Gilliam
Oct. 7 1954 to April 17 2013

 

Leave a Reply

