Will You


Sunrises and I look for you there,

Night falls and I see your shadow again.

The wind blows and I smell your perfume,

Light shines and there’s that sparkle in your eyes.

A song plays and I dream of you,

A word is spoken and I turn to look for you.

The phone rings and I hesitate knowing your not there.

A cloud in the sky, a rainbow in the distance and I look for you there.

It rains and I smell the springtime of love.

Fresh cut grass and I see you walking out your door.

The breeze through the windows and I see you smile.

The radio plays and I look for you there.

I pray each night for God’s blessing for you.

I pray each morning to bring you to me.

The organ plays and the people sing.

And I look for you there.

Who dreams of tomorrow without seeing you?

Who walks the country roads without longing for you?

How long has it been since we touched and spoke?

Yet at each turn I look for you there.

When the sun rises and the moon comes into view, I look for you there.

When the flowers bloom and the children sing, I look for you there.

When people smile and laughter fills the air, I look for you there.

When I wake each morning and hear the birds sing, I look for you there.

Sunrise

Moon falls

Winds blow

Lights shine

Will you be there?

June 16, 1975

Leave a Reply

